Guided Access on iPhone and iPad


Apple provides a feature named Guided Access on iPhone and iPad to lock your screen on one specific app. The app is built as an Accessibility feature. This limits users to one specific app and prevents them from switching to another program or returning to the Home screen. This app is very useful in a number of settings that includes autism research, restaurants, education, museums, businesses, and more.

Guided Access helps to confirm that all attention remains on that app, even if it’s a drawing app, math app, writing app, story app, music app, reading app, or video app. This also prevents you from accidentally existing to the Home screen app or another app when you don’t mean to.


This can even be used to create a “guest mode,” that allows you to hand your device to someone so that they can use iBooks, Safari, Game, or a Video without having to worry that they’ll snoop through your personal information.

How to enable Guided Access on iPhone and iPad

  • Go to Settings app on your iPad or iPhone.
  • Click on General.
  • Click on Accessibility.
  • Under the learning section, you will find Guided Access. Tap on it.
  • Turn on Guided Access switch.
  • Click on Passcode Settings.
  • Click Set Guided Access Passcode and set a passcode.accessibility-iphone-guided-access-screens-01
  • Toggle Accessibility Shortcut to On, which allows you to triple-tap the Home button and enter Guided Access at any time.

How to use Guided Access

  • Select the app you would like the user to have access to. For instance we use Camera.
  • To launch Guided Access, triple tap the Home button.
  • Circle any areas of the screen that you would like to make inaccessible.accessibility-iphone-used-guided-access-screens-02
  • Click on Options in the bottom left corner to choose whether or not you want to grant access to the Sleep/Wake button, touch screen, Volume buttons, and motion. Click Done to save your selections.
  • To begin Guided Access, click on Start at the top of the screen.

Guided Access

Once Guided Access is enabled, anyone trying to leave the specific app you have locked it to will receive a banner message telling them to triple-tap the Home button to exit. If they don’t know the pre-set passcode, they won’t be able to exit Guided Access.

You May Also LikeThe Best iPhone and iOS tips, tricks and shortcuts you didn’t know